2017 Formula Challenge Season (page 3)

Teams and Drivers

The amount of team slots remained at 16 for the 2016 season, with the GPVWC Management citing a desire to promote quality over quantity in GPVWC series in 2017. Notably, the league-owned GPVWC Academy team expanded to 2 cars in 2017, following the discontinuation of the Open Series.

Formula Challenge Team Team Owner Abbreviation Chassis Tyre No. Race Drivers Rounds Test/Reserve Driver(s)
England Apex Racing England Stefan McCready Apex FC-017 G 47   N/A
England Arrow International Racing England Sam Jones AIR FC-017 G 26   N/A

Scuderia Basilea


David Jundt

Basilea FC-017 G 66 Netherlands Mike Kwint N/A
89 Poland Maciej Mlynek
Finland Bastvik Grand Prix Finland Mikael Tuomaala Bastvik FC-017 G 70 Portugal Bruno Sousa Ferreira N/A
71 Poland Patryk Gerber
England Downforce Racing England Jake Sanson Downforce FC-017 G TBA   N/A
England EJ Engineering Australia Jarrod Vanderweide EJ FC-017 G 23 Netherlands Wesley Stefano N/A
28 England Will Barnes
Estonia EVAL Simracing Team Estonia Argo Teder EVAL FC-017 G 46   N/A
Liechtenstein GPVWC Academy Netherlands Menno Klont GPVWC FC-017 G 0   N/A
Netherlands Holland Racing Team Netherlands Dethan Rootring HRT FC-017 G 78 Netherlands Gerrit de Vries Germany Bastian Paisler
79 Netherlands Casper Onwijn
Brazil NEX E-Sports Club Brazil Ike Ramos NEX FC-017 G TBA Brazil Ike Ramos N/A
TBA Cyprus Loucas Afxentiou
England Red Arrow Racing England David Fidock Red Arrow FC-017 G 65 Greece Nicholas Demetris England Chris Williamson
93 Spain Tomeu Cabrer
England Royal Blue Racing England Matthew Clipp Royal Blue FC-017 G 50 Netherlands Dave van Gils N/A
Canada STAX Racing Germany Christian Zoerner STAX FC-017 G 36 Netherlands Menno Klont N/A
37 England Chris Shepherd
Scotland The Mighty Forth Scotland Paul Joseph TMF FC-017 G 24 England Mark Breslin N/A
25 ScotlandPaul Joseph
Netherlands THUnderdog Netherlands Rienk Hoekstra THU FC-017 G 95 Netherlands Roy Schroten N/A
99 Netherlands Rienk Hoekstra
Mexico TR Bluvos Motorsports Mexico Michael Teichmann TR FC-017 G 87 Malta Terence Grech N/A
88 Netherlands Roy Verzijl
England TTF Racing England Tyrone Frith TTF FC-017 G 41 South Africa Bret Metcalf N/A
45 England James Early
England YTF1 England Matthew Allington YTF1 FC-017 G 13 Sweden Johan Lindberg N/A
22 South Africa Matthew Marquard
  • 1 Apex Racing and Eval Simracing Team were initially accepted onto the 2017 grid but withdrew from the series just before the pre-season test. They were replaced by newcomers to the Career Ladder NEX E-Sports Club after their Masters Series venture, and Downforce Racing, making their return as a fully-fledged outfit after fielding a single-car entry as the precursor to the GPVWC Academy in 2015.

Team changes

  • Cosmo Autosport, Deltec Racing Team, Draig Racing, Epic Racing, Hinss Motorsport and Zedderick Racing were all promoted to the Supercup.
  • MadCape Racing Team were promoted to the Superleague.
  • BackMarker Brigade, Sportscar Driving Evolution and Tēafor Motorsport all did not continue into the 2017 season.

New entries

  • Apex Racing, EJ Engineering, Holland Racing Team, Red Arrow Racing, STAX Racing, The Mighty Forth, THUnderdog, TR Motorsports and TTF Racing are all rookies to the career ladder in the 2017 season.

Returning entries

  • Royal Blue Racing returned to the series after a two year absence.

"2017 Formula Challenge Season" table of contents

  1. 2017 Formula Challenge Season
  2. Videos
  3. Teams and Drivers
  4. Calendar
  5. Results and standings